Board of Education

WCS Board 2017-18

An Introduction to the Board

The Woods Charter School Company is governed by a Board of Directors. Each year the parents and teachers vote for board members, who serve two or three year terms on staggered cycles (see bylaws for specific details). The seven elected, voting members of the Board are all parents. Other members of the Board are a teacher representative elected by the full-time staff, a student representative elected by the students, and the principal. A "community" board member may, from time to time, be appointed by the Board; the community board member may or may not be a parent. The Board sets policy and governs the school, while the principal manages the school on a day-to-day basis.

School Board meetings are regularly scheduled for the third Thursday in the month at 7 p.m. The dates for these meetings are available on the school calendar. Board meetings are open meetings, and we encourage all Woods families to attend.

 

Meeting dates for 2017-18 school year:

Thursday, August 24, 2017 (adjusted for first week of school)
Tuesday, August 29, 2017 Board Retreat
Thursday, September 21, 2017
Thursday, October 19, 2017
Thursday, November 16, 2017
Thursday, December 14, 2017 (adjusted for Winter Break)
Thursday, January 18, 2018
Thursday, February 15, 2018
Thursday, March 15, 2018
Thursday, April 19, 2018
Thursday, May 17, 2018
Tuesday, June 5, 2018 (adjusted for last week of school)

Board Members

Meetings

12/14/2017
7:00 PM
December Board Meeting
1/18/2018
7:00 PM
January Board Meeting
2/15/2018
7:00 PM
February Board Meeting
3/15/2018
7:00 PM
March Board Meeting
4/19/2018
7:00 PM
April Board Meeting
5/17/2018
7:00 PM
May Board Meeting
6/5/2018
7:00 PM
June Board Meeting
ARCHIVED MEETINGS

Documents

Links